Home >General Information > Exploring Korea

Exploring Korea

From June to August, the weather is hot, with temperatures ranging from 25°C to 35°C. The rainy season, called “Jangma”, frequently occurs between late June and late July. A few typhoons with heavy rain and wind typically visit the country between August and September.
The unit of the Korean currency is the Won(₩). Coin denominations are KRW 10, KRW 50, KRW 100 and KRW 500. Banknotes are KRW 1,000, KRW 5,000, KRW 10,000, KRW 50,000. The exchange rate is approximately USD 1 to KRW 1,200 as of February 2017.
Automated Teller Machine (ATM)
Automated Teller Machine (ATM) are in operation 24 hours a day. Most large stores, hotels, and restaurants in Korea accept major international credit cards. However, it is advisable to carry some cash since some smaller establishments and stores may not accept credit cards.
International Calls
The International dialling code in Seoul, Korea is +82(country code)-2(area code). Please skip the (0) when dialling from overseas.
Tipping is not customary in Korea. Sometimes, expensive restaurants and luxury hotels may add a service charge of 10%
Business Hour
Government office hours are usually from 09:00 to 18:00 on weekdays and closed on weekends. Banks are open from 09:00 to 16:00 on weekdays and closed on weekends. Most shops are open from 10:00 to 20:00 through the entire week.
In Korea, 220V outlets are most common. Some hotels provide 110V outlets for shavers. Please check the power supply before use.

All foreign visitors entering the Republic of Korea must possess a valid passport. Delegates, except those from countries who have visa exemption agreements with Korea, should apply to a Korean diplomatic mission in their countries for visas prior to departure.

Nationals of countries or regions allowed for visa-free entry

Continents Countries
Asia (6 countries) Brunei (30 days), Hong Kong (90 days), Indonesia (diplomatic and official, 14 days), Japan (90 days), Macau (90 days), Taiwan (30 days)
America (8 countries) A rgentina (30 days), Canada (6 months), Ecuador (30 days), Guyana (30 days), Honduras (30 days), Paraguay (30 days), United States (90 days), Uruguay (30 days)
Europe (11 countries) A lbania (30 days), Andora (30 days), Bosnia-Herzegovina (30 days), Croatia (30 days), Cyprus (30 days), Monaco (30 days), Montenegro (30 days), San Marino (30 days), Serbia (30 days), Slovenia (90 days), Vatican (30 days)
Oceania (13 countries) A ustralia (90 days), Fiji (30 days), Guam (30 days), Kiribati (30 days), Marshall Islands (30 days), Micronesia (30 days), Nauru (30 days), New Caledonia (30 days), Palau (30 days), Samoa (30 days), Solomon Islands (30 days), Tonga (30 days), Tuvalu (30 days)
Middle East & Africa (13 countries) Bahrain (30 days), Egypt (30 days), Kuwait (30 days), Lebanon (diplomatic and official 30 days), Mauritius (30 days), Oman (30 days), Qatar (30 days), Saudi Arabia (30 days), Seychelles (30 days), South Africa (30 days), Swaziland (30 days), United Arab Emirates (30 days), Yemen (30 days)

• Nationals of the above countries or regions are allowed up to 30 days of visa-free sojourn for tourism or visit.
• Exceptions: N ationals of Canada are allowed up to 6 months, and nationals of Australia, Hong Kong, Japan,
Macau, Slovenia, and the United States are allowed up to 90 days.

Korea Immigration Service
· http://www.immigration.go.kr/HP/IMM80/index.do